information repository image repository discussion group interactive trauma professional resources about search directory related sites new content





Abbreviated Injury Scale

The Abbreviated Injury Scale (AIS) is an anatomical scoring system first introduced in 1969. Since this time it has been revised and updated against survival so that it now provides a reasonably accurrate was of ranking the severity of injury. The latest incarnation of the AIS score is the 1990 revision. The AIS is monitored by a scaling committee of the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine.

Injuries are ranked on a scale of 1 to 6, with 1 being minor, 5 severe and 6 an unsurvivable injury. This represents the 'threat to life' associated with an injury and is not meant to represent a comprehensive measure of severity. The AIS is not an injury scale, in that the difference between AIS1 and AIS2 is not the same as that between AIS4 and AIS5. There are many similarities between the AIS scale and the Organ Injury Scales of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma.

AIS Score Injury
1 Minor
2 Moderate
3 Serious
4 Severe
5 Critical
6 Unsurvivable


Copes WS, Sacco WJ, Champion HR, Bain LW, "Progress in Characterising Anatomic Injury", In Proceedings of the 33rd Annual Meeting of the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine, Baltimore, MA, USA 205-218

Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine
2340 Des Plaines Avenue, Suite 106
Des Plaines
Illinois 60018